Eight character traits that are basic to tasawwuf.

To catch a glimpse of his nasiha (advice), perhaps the best place to begin is to see how he advises his own son Shaykh ‘Abdur Razzaq, Rahmatullahi ‘alayh. He advised him to acquire eight character traits that are basic to tasawwuf (spiritual culture).

These are:
Sakha (generosity) of Nabi (Prophet) Ibrahim, ‘alayhissalam
(peace be upon him)

Rida (joyful contentment with whatever Allah ordains) of Nabi Is-haq, ‘alayhissalam

Sabr (patience) of Nabi Ayyub, ‘alayhissalam

Ishara (symbolic instruction) of Nabi Zakariyya, ‘alayhissalam

Ghurba (life as a stranger in far-off lands) of Nabi Yusuf, ‘alayhissalam

Lubs us suf (the wearing of Sufi clothes) of Nabi Yahya, ‘alayhissalam

Siyaha (wandering travel) of Nabi ‘Isa, ‘alayhissalam

Faqr (worldly poverty with spiritual riches) of Nabiyyuna wa Habibuna wa Shafi’una Muhammad Mustafa, Sallallahu ‘alayhi wa Sallam.

(cited by Al-Hajj Isma’il ibn as-Sayyid Muhammad Sa’id al-Qadiri, in al-Fuyudaat ur Rabbaniyya, Emanations of Lordly Grace, p. 40).

اللَّهُمَّ صَلِّ عَلَى سَيِّدِنَا مُحَمَّدٍ وَعَلَى آلِ سَيِّدِنَا مُحَمَّد

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s